Work At Home Mama featuring… Fritha Strickland

Standard

MoonbeatleSo before we get started, why not introduce yourself and your business…
My name is Fritha Moonbeatle Tigerlily Quinn Strickland. I run a blog called Tigerlilly Quinn and sell illustrations in my shop ‘moonbeatle’

So what came first, working from home or becoming a mama?
Becoming a mama came first although working from home has been something I have wanted to do for a long time. Having Wilf gave the confidence and opportunity to work from home and I hope to be able to establish myself and my work enough to be able to stay at home with my baby and do the job I love.
Other than an extra mouth to feed what were your reasons for being your own boss?
I am passionate about my artwork and any other job doesn’t compare. Also when I am drawing it doesn’t feel like ‘work’ as it is something I enjoy and feel proud of. I have always wanted to work for myself and I think having a good work ethic is healthy and important to impart onto Wilf as he grows up.

Did you vigorously plan it before taking the plunge? Or did you just dip your toes in first to test the waters?
I have had a few commissions before having Wilf but I was always working 37 hours a week too so could never throw myself into it entirely. Of course looking after a three month old is a full time job too but I am able to focus my energy into my art when I have a free second (like when he is napping!)

What do you think is the hardest obstacle when starting off on your own?
Having the confidence to put yourself out there. Also don’t expect for it to take off straight away. A lot of it is building up a client base and getting your name out there so it will take time!

Was there anything that you found surprisingly easy about the whole thing?
As an illustrator, drawing slips into to daily life quite well. Its something I can do with a sleeping baby on me for example!

Do you have a strict schedule that you stick to or do you just fit it in around daily life?
Definitely fitting around daily life! I’ve never been into schedules!  

What advice would you give someone thinking about following in your footsteps?
Twitter is a great tool for networking/meeting other business mamas or just find a bit of support! I would say it is a must for any one trying to set up a business.

Thank you so much for your time and advice and I wish you all the luck in the future.

You can find out more about Fritha by reading her wonderful blog here.

Leave a Reply

