Work At Home Mama featuring… Georgia Coote

Standard

GeorgiaSo before we get started, why not introduce yourself and your business…
 I’m Georgia and I’m a freelance surface pattern designer. My business encompasses many different things but they all stem from my love of surface pattern. My main focus is designing repeats which are available for licensing along with developing patterns for my own products. I also run creative workshops for a number of artistic skills for many different community groups, for example basic print making, sewing, and sensory art.

So what came first, working from home or becoming a mama?
For the past 3/4 years I’ve worked part-time at home and the rest of the time teaching. I’ve always wanted to do my own work full-time though, so now focusing on just my own work is really exciting!

 
Other than an extra mouth to feed what were your reasons for being your own boss?
I’ve always wanted to work for myself, I’m very much at the beginnings of being able to be a stay at home mum and work for myself, but I love the thought that I will be able to look after my baby as well as being able to do what I love.

 
Did you vigorously plan it before taking the plunge? Or did you just dip your toes in first to test the waters?
Because I worked partly freelance before becoming a mum I didn’t plan it too much, as I felt that I’d tested the waters a little. That being said I have no idea how this is all going to work out, but I’m going try as hard as I can to stay at home with my daughter and hopefully earn a living at the same time!

 
What do you think is the hardest obstacle when starting off on your own?
Start up costs, it’s really hard paying for samples and any new equipment, supplies etc right at the start without any funds. I’m currently looking into grants and awards at the moment.

 
Was there anything that you found surprisingly easy about the whole thing?
Motivation – when you really love something it’s really not hard to get excited about getting started!

 

Do you have a strict schedule that you stick to or do you just fit it in around daily life?
Life is so chaotic at the moment I have to just fit everything around daily life! In some ways though I think that makes me focus my work a lot more and to be honest I’m not a particularly structured person so I wouldn’t have it another way!

 
What advice would you give someone thinking about following in your footsteps?
I think if you do what you love hopefully something good will always come of it – well I hope so anyway!

Thank you so much for your time and advice and I wish you all the luck in the future.

You can find out more about Georgia by reading her wonderful blog here.

Leave a Reply

